Friday, February 20, 2015

Requirements for Medicaid Eligibility

Through the decades, Medicaid has provided health coverage to millions of Americans across all states. Jointly funded by the federal government and the individual state, it covers adults with low income, the elderly, pregnant women, persons with disabilities, and children. However, to be eligible for Medicaid, one must first meet general and financial requirements.

General Requirements

To be eligible for Medicaid, you must be a U.S. citizen and a resident of the state where you are applying. You must also have a Social Security number. Additionally, you must either be 65 years of age or older, pregnant, blind, or permanently disabled according to the definition of the Social Security Administration. Children, or their parents or guardian, may also be covered by Medicaid.

Financial Requirements

In terms of financial requirements, there are two prominent groups that are almost always eligible for Medicaid services. These are the medically needy and the special income level group. In over 40 states, those who belong in the special income level are covered. Generally these are people who are aged, blind, disabled, and have other similar conditions; and whose monthly incomes are no higher than $2,310 in 2013.  On the other hand, the medically needy are covered in at least thirty-three states. The difference is that even those with a high income but with high medical expenses are eligible.

Those who are unsure about their eligibility or the process of applying for coverage can turn to Medicaid eligibility services for guidance.

No comments:

Post a Comment